High Adventure Games

Meaty Gaming Goodness from the creators of Aega Mythea, HAGIS, and Shadows of Reality

New Book: Campaign Sourcebook and Catacomb Guide

Posted by Adaen of Bridgewater on November 2, 2006

I spend a fair amount of time on Amazon.com browsing, etc. and maintain a fairly large “Wish List” there for those who are interested in either using it as a resource of “good stuff” or who would like to buy stuff for me (one can only hope):
My Amazon.com Wish List
Anyways, I just received a copy of the now out-of-print “Campaign Sourcebook and Catacomb Guide/Dungeon Master’s Guide/Rules Supplement/ (Advanced Dungeons and Dragons) (Paperback)” by by Paul Jaquays, William W. Conners.
Campaign Sourcebook and Catacomb Guide from Amazon.comThis is a 2E AD&D product, but it has been reviewed as being of general utility for the “subtle science and exacting art of gamemastering”. I do imagine (and the table of contents seems to bear this out) that its utility is mainly in the “fantasy” genre, but we shall see. There has been a recent slew of interest on the Yahoo Group, rpg-create as seen in these threads:

GMing good or bad or …

Role(s) of the GM and the rules (one gamer’s opinions)

Rules to guide (constrain) bad GMs

and is a primary function of:

the LRPGSW · Literary RPG Society of Westchester and

GM Mastery (both Yahoo Groups).

I have also greatly enjoyed Mr. Jaquays other works (i.e., Central Casting, Rolemaster Companion III, etc….click his name above). In skimming it, I am liking what I’m seeing; especially considering I paid US $6.22 ($2.73 + shipping) for it used. I may be inclined to write an honest to goodness review of this product once I’ve read it more thoroughly. If I do, it will be posted here and likely on rpg.net (a website that I highly recommend).

Well, I’m off to read a few pages before calling it a night.

~Adaen of Bridgewater, High Adventure Games

Leave a Reply

 
