High Adventure Games

Meaty Gaming Goodness from the creators of Aega Mythea, HAGIS, and Shadows of Reality

HAGIS Element – The TriDie

Posted by Adaen of Bridgewater on November 2, 2007

In getting back to developing and describing HAGIS, let’s talk about the main mechanic randomizer…the TriDie. Torben Mogensen, esteemed RPG Mathematician of DoomTM,has been discussing this very mechanic in his recent article on RPG.net. Torben (and Woodelf….where, o where art thou, Woodelf?) were the first to propose this mechanic to me on the Yahoo RPG Create board.

d20d20d20

 

 

 

Let me explain….no, there’s no time….Let me sum up. Rather than tell you how I got to where I am, let me tell where I am at now for HAGIS randomizer mechanics:

The base system randomizer involves rolling 3 dice of the same kind and taking the median (mid) value. The other two dice (the High and the Low values) are not directly used for randomizing normal contests (i.e., the vast majority of contests use the Mid value.

[That being said, the Low and High valued dice are used directly for special contests; when they are triggered. I’ll talk more about that later, for now let’s focus on the median, the mid value.]

For several reasons (which we can get into in discussion or as part of a future post), current HAGIS development is using 3 d20’s for this operation. The following plot shows the probability distribution for the mid_3d20:

HAGIS mid_3d20 Randomizer Probability

Any thoughts?

In a future post (or an update to this post), I will get more into the “grits” of the whats, hows, whys of the HAGIS default system. Also, I will step out of the theory lab and apply it for a real-world use, gaming with my wife (and brother too). The game is loosely titled: HAGIS:  Mythos/Mythos Files/Cthulhu Files/The Quest to fulfill my wife’s expectations……(no comments there, thank you).

~Adaen of Bridgewater

5 Responses to “HAGIS Element – The TriDie”

  1. Tommi said

    I, for one, would be interested in hearing the design reasons behind this.

  2. Hi Tommi, and so you shall! Thanks very much for your interest. I will be posting on that very topic this week.

    Best,

    ~AoB

  3. I’m looking back on some open loops and just realized that I haven’t really responded to Tommi’s request….not really. Well, maybe I have. A while ago, I generated a pre-alpha version of the “designer notes” for Aega Mythea/HAGIS.

    I will pull them up….give them a quick review and then post them. I had promised this document to Peter Knutsen a while back, but have yet to deliver on it. I now have two requests from Scandinavia to produce the goods! Within 24 hours from now, I will do so.

    ~Adaen of Bridgewater

  4. […] by Adaen of Bridgewater on December 29, 2007 Ok, as promised, here are some of the design concerns that first made the pull for the TriDie. Now it has been some […]

  5. […] ~AoB In getting back to developing and describing HAGIS, let’s talk about the main mechanic randomizer…the TriDie. Torben Mogensen, esteemed RPG Mathematician of DoomTM,has been discussing this very mechanic in his recent article on RPG.net. Torben (and Woodelf….where, o where art thou, Woodelf?) were the first to propose this mechanic to me on the Yahoo RPG Create board.       Let me explain….no, there’s no time….Let me sum up. Rather than te … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

 
