High Adventure Games

Meaty Gaming Goodness from the creators of Aega Mythea, HAGIS, and Shadows of Reality

Gleichman….anyone…..Gleichman

Posted by Adaen of Bridgewater on November 9, 2008

Its been several years since Brian Gleichman departed the net. I thought he’d be back by now.

Brian was at one point quite active in the rpg online community and posted quite prolifically on The Forge, rpg.net, and other online fora. And then, quite suddenly, he announced his intent to withdrawal from net and remove any online presence “to attack”.

To be sure, his style of play and his way of looking at games was not typical and he often was at odds with others. He did have a sharp tongue, but also a sharp wit to back it up. Whether or not his feeling of being “attacked” or not was justified, I don’t know. I wasn’t involved in direct discussions with him.

But I did appreciate his positions, especially given his gaming goals. As he states in the designer notes of Age of Heroes, “requiring some roleplaying in my wargame”.

At one point in my gaming career, I was decidedly in the same camp. I’ve since drifted into what some might term as more “narrativism”-based goals. Whatever. I miss Gleichman’s perspective.

When he left, I said to myself, “he’ll be back…no one as passionate as him can stay away from this stuff.” But alas, he has not returned….and its been years now. I tried to email him a while back, but all the addresses that I have are bouncing. If someone does still have contact with him, please let me know. And Brian, if you are reading this…isn’t it time to come back to the table?

~AoB

6 Responses to “Gleichman….anyone…..Gleichman”

  1. Brian Gleichman said

    Hello Adaen, I hope things are going well for you.

    I was looking for old links in google when I came upon this, and thought you deserved an answer. I’m still around, still interested in rpgs, but still rather dismayed at the nature of the online world and not very active in it.

    I never returned to rpg.net, which at the time *was* the Internet for me after gaming outpost had effectively died and The Forge become Ron’s personal playground. Leaving there and taking down my AoH website was a total break.

    I did make short stops at a few other sites over the years looking for one that I felt at least a partial fit for, but that goal makes seeking the questing beast appear rational. I never stayed long. So lurking for information on new games will remain just about my only connection, and that has been dimming as each year I see the hobby drifting further away from anything I’m interested in.

  2. Hi Brian,

    Thanks for your note. Things are going well…though I’m in the end-of-the-year crunch (so it goes). I understand your thoughts on the online world, but am still somewhat disappointed. It is a shame to not have Age of Heroes out there anymore. And your articles were a breath of fresh air. Even if you didn’t want to get into the whole forum discussion type of online presence, I’d urge you to reconsider some of your position with regard to self-publication and articles. I hope you won’t mind if I contact you offline.

    All the Best,

    ~AoB

  3. Brian Gleichman said

    Been horribly busy of late, so it took me a while to come back and answer this.

    I’m not sure where I’d publish articles even if I had a mind to, I could get a blog like this I suppose but I wouldn’t update it very often as I’m not really connected to much of the gaming scene anymore. Thus it would just sort of hang out there unvisited because I don’t write enough to keep people coming.

    As for Age of Heroes, I’ll drop you a line if I ever do anythign with it. I’m been thinking using Lulu to get myself a hardback version of at least the core rules and that would be availible to those other interested. The problem is that I dont’ have a pressing reason to get stuff into the shape required for that 🙂

    It may happen however.

  4. Happy New Year Brian (I’ll be emailing this to you as well),

    Thanks for your comments. If you’d like a pulpit for articles, musings, etc., I’d be happy for you to post here. Please let me know if you’d like an account setup (just in case). Come on, you know you still have things to say….and there are people who would appreciate hearing them. And it might be fun!

    Maybe the bustle of the RPG Forum-space is not your bag, but there may be another way to be involved…at the level you deem appropriate at any given time without any expectations of commitments.

    In any case, all the best to you and yours.

    ~AoB

  5. Brian Gleichman said

    Thanks Adaen, I’ll give it some thought.

    In the meantime, I noticed that you need to update a link. I finally got tired of my URL getting changed as one company or another buys out my ISP and bought a domain. It’s http://whitehall-paraindustries.com/

    The Deadlands and HERO house rules are there, as are the elements articles and some other stuff.

    Just got it, so replication may take a while although it’s working for me. Hmm, need to buy off that silly banner…

Leave a Reply

 
