High Adventure Games

Meaty Gaming Goodness from the creators of Aega Mythea, HAGIS, and Shadows of Reality

Wormy, anyone…anyone, Wormy?

Posted by Adaen of Bridgewater on November 25, 2007

Wormy PanelWow, while perusing the Troll Lord Games Forums, I noted a link to some guy’s site who has digitized all the the old Wormy comics from the OLD (’77 – ’88) Dragon Magazines. It looks to be the artist “Tramp”, aka Dave Trampier.

I was already feeling a bit nostalgic about Old-school gaming looking through Castles & Crusades stuff (and other Old-school D&D Emulators)….now, doubly so. Wormy was a part of my youth and reminds me how I used to relish each Dragon Magazine (and later Dungeon Magazine) once upon a time….

We, being just kids with very limited funds couldn’t subscribe; we bought each copy that we could afford very judiciously at our local bookstore/gamestore. Later, as an adult with a job, I was able to subscribe. This was just around when D&D 3E was hitting the news….it wasn’t quite the same. Maybe it was the absence of Wormy (at least in part. Anyway, thanks for the memories, Dave!

I’m also a bit sad again as I remember when I let me Dragon subscription lapse…..and then how they eventually ceased print publication (though it is still available as an e-zine)….unrelated coincidence? I think not. Apparently, they couldn’t go on without me….

~AoB

Leave a Reply

 
