High Adventure Games

Meaty Gaming Goodness from the creators of Aega Mythea, HAGIS, and Shadows of Reality

Cyclopedia + Forgotten Realms Original Set = Awesomeness

Posted by Adaen of Bridgewater on March 10, 2010

Doc Rotwang recently posted on his blog, I Waste The Buddha With My Crossbow: The Voices Are Whispering Their Strange Maths To Me, about using the most excellent D&D Rules Cyclopedia with the Forgotten Realms setting….from the original Boxed Set.

I loved that set….it was from a simpler time before the power escalation, Time of Troubles crap-fest. Don’t get me wrong, I liked playing Baldur’s Gate, but somehow the storyline that preceded it and all the canon material that’s been built up over the years is a bit much.

He goes on to flesh out some specifics  on what his game will be about.…Rotwang, always the master mixer, is bringin’ some Swashbuckling to Sembia. It sounds like a fun game. Thanks for the inspiration, good Doctor!

I’m setting up a game with my kids and grabbed those very materials….not so much for the rules really (my kids are 3 and 5), but more for inspiration (and pictures for the kids). We’ll be using some simpler, off-the-cuff rules in our game….and it looks like ours will feature pixies….I’ll be posting more on this later.

~AoB

3 Responses to “Cyclopedia + Forgotten Realms Original Set = Awesomeness”

  1. newbiedm said

    I don’t want to sound like a jerk, pushing my crap on people, but my daughter is 4 years old, more or less around your kids age… I came up with a simle ruleset to play D&D with her, and it’s been wonderful.

    It’s really a basic math, number recognition system. You may want to look into it….

    http://newbiedm.com/2010/01/01/a-system-for-playing-dd-with-my-kid/

    Sorry to spam your site with such shameless self promotion, but it may help you out.

    Thanks!

  2. @NewbieDM No worries at all! That’s great. I’ve dabbled with a few systems of my own devising/bastardization/simplification. Thanks for sharing.

    ~AoB

  3. In a tangentially related item, I actually taught my daughter her numbers up to 100 with a percentile dice game we made up…..

Leave a Reply

 
